top of page

Early Years



The ONIS Early Years areas are friendly, a specious and welcoming environment. We aim to offer the highest standard of care for the children aged 16 months to 5 years old. The emphasis is on providing a bright and inspiring atmosphere with qualified, experienced, competent staff, who are enthusiastic for teaching and learning. We tailor our curriculum to accommodate the needs to each and every child in our care with our PLP; whilst monitoring children’s progress, development and well-being. Children learn and grow in confidence, through a well-balanced range of indoor and outdoor activities.


At ONIS we follow the National Curriculum for England specifically the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) for children aged 16 months to 5 years. The EYFS sets standards that promote teaching and learning to give children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide a solid foundation for school life. It also recognises that play is essential for children’s development to build their confidence as they learn to explore, relate to others, set their own goals and solve problems.

The EYFS is based on four important principles that shape our practice at ONIS:

  • A unique child

  • Positive relationships

  • Enabling environments

  • Learning and development

There are also 7 areas of learning which stem from this theme and run throughout our program at ONIS. All areas are important and inter-connected; however, the prime areas are fundamental to a broad and balanced base of learning for children.

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design 

Please note each of the 7 areas above are broken down into further sections​

bottom of page